食物采集

阿斯帕林山国家公园

Image © Nathanael Coyne

食物采集

3555 平方千米的阿斯帕林山国家公园是高山植物和动物,包括小型受威胁的石异鹩的天堂,公园是新西兰西南端世界遗产地的一部分,包括偏僻的橄榄荒野区和红丘, 大片的浅橙色与灰色背景的山的映衬下格外亮眼。在海拔较低且平坦的长满草的地方,过去很长一段时间被用作耕地。新西兰国家公园的有些地方曾经被政府出租用作畜牧业,根据土地使用权评估,被合并成为国家公园的一部分。阿斯帕林山国家公园就是这样,过去和现在的农场都有。在公园建成之前,小型采矿业在这里也十分常见,如今在公园周围依然可以看到采矿业的遗迹。

公园的故事

食物采集

毛利人称阿斯帕林山为 Tititea或闪耀的白山,这里包括其下游的河谷曾是传统上重要的食物采集地。

John Gilfillan – A Maori camp with men cooking, circa 1860s - Image © National Library of New Zealand

生态系统服务

国家公园由于其杰出的自然和文化遗产而永久受保护,除了旅游外,它们在经济方面也发挥着重要作用。像流经阿斯帕林山国家公园的克卢萨河,公园的山川河谷收集雨水,在河流下游的公园边界外的部分,河道里的水被用来水力发电和农业灌溉。公园也是生物多样性的天堂,为集约型农业产生的影响提供恢复力。

Images © Shellie Evans

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

探索其他公园

从新西兰最高海拔的山脉延伸至新西兰南岛最巍峨崎岖的西海岸中心地带, 西部泰普提尼国家公园是新西兰最重要的国家公园之一,它连接着山脉与海洋…
斯图尔特岛的和雷奇欧拉国家公园位于新西兰的最南端,惊涛骇浪的福沃海峡将其与新西兰南北两大岛相隔…
峡湾国家公园是最吸引新西兰人和游客们想象力的地方,因为它是新西兰乃至全世界最天然、最野趣的地方…

Mahinga Kai

Mount Aspiring National Park

Image © Nathanael Coyne

Mahinga Kai

The 3555km2 Mount Aspiring National Park is a haven for native alpine plants and animals including the tiny threatened rock wren. The park is part of Te Wahipounamu South West New Zealand World Heritage Area and includes the remote Olivine Wilderness Area and the aptly named Red Hills, whose light orange tint stands out amid an otherwise grey mountain landscape. Lower down on its flat grassy areas contain a legacy of farming. Parts of New Zealand’s national parks are made up of areas that were previously leased by the government for pastoralism, but which through the tenure review process are being incorporated into the country’s protected areas. This scenario was the case for Mount Aspiring National Park, which is made up of both former and current farms. Small scale mining was also common before the park’s establishment with remnants of mining activity still visible around the park.

PARK STORIES

Food Gathering

Maori called Mount Aspiring Tititea, or glistening hills of white. This area, including the downstream river valleys, were traditionally important Mahinga Kai or food gathering sites.

John Gilfillan – A Maori camp with men cooking, circa 1860s - Image © National Library of New Zealand

Ecosystem Services

National parks are places that are protected in perpetuity for their outstanding natural and cultural heritage. Yet beyond tourism they also play other important roles in the country’s economy. Major rivers such as the Clutha have their source in Mount Aspiring National Park. The park’s mountains and valleys work as rain catchers and downstream, outside the park boundary, these waterways are utilized for hydroelectric power and irrigation for agriculture. Parks also are havens for biodiversity that can provide resilience to impacts arising from intensive agriculture.

Images © Shellie Evans

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

EXPLORE OTHER NATIONAL PARKS​

The Whanganui River is an ever-present life force for the North Island of New Zealand. Of great historic importance, the river is one of the most culturally significant bodies of water in the country. Maori of Whanganui iwi have long believed that the river is…
Abel Tasman National Park contains rock pools, estuaries, outcrops, offshore islands, and golden sand beaches that rival the tropics. It is a national park defined by its coast. Abel Tasman National Park was established in 1942…
Nelson Lakes National Park was established in 1952 and as its name suggests has many lakes both big and small. The crystal clear waters of the deep lakes at this northern tip of the South Island of New Zealand reflect the immense mountain…