人民和野生动物庇护所

雷奇欧拉国家公园

Image © Trish H C

人民和野生动物庇护所

斯图尔特岛的和雷奇欧拉国家公园位于新西兰的最南端,惊涛骇浪的福沃海峡将其与新西兰南北两大岛相隔。斯图尔特岛表面几乎都被天然植被覆盖,公园提供了与亚南极岛冻土带的联系。雷奇欧拉国家公园于 2002 年建立,是新西兰最新的国家公园,占地 1570 平方千米,面积占整个斯图尔特岛的 85%。

公园的故事

灰鹱狩猎

从早期人类到达新西兰,人们就开始狩猎灰鹱或海鸥。今天的毛利人在斯图尔特岛地区有狩猎灰鹱的合法权利。按照传统这种鸟在海带包中腌制保存。

Image © National Library of New Zealand

鸟类

因为新西兰与其他大陆的长期隔绝,像斯图尔特岛上的褐色卡卡鹦鹉就保留了鹦鹉属的很多原始特征。观看原生鸟类的最好去处是石莼岛,这里的入侵动物被清除了, 结果鸟类和鸟鸣声非常丰富。

Images © Tomas Sobek (top left),
Christoph Strassler (bottom left), Bernard Spragg (right)

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

探索其他公园

从新西兰最高海拔的山脉延伸至新西兰南岛最巍峨崎岖的西海岸中心地带, 西部泰普提尼国家公园是新西兰最重要的国家公园之一,它连接着山脉与海洋…
斯图尔特岛的和雷奇欧拉国家公园位于新西兰的最南端,惊涛骇浪的福沃海峡将其与新西兰南北两大岛相隔…
正如它的名字所展示的,尼尔森湖国家公园于 1952年建立,是一个面积为 1020 平方千米的湖泊公园。这里是新西兰南岛最北的一隅,有着大大小小的湖泊…

Sanctuary for People and Wildlife

Rakiura National Park

Image © Trish H C

Sanctuary for People and Wildlife

Situated at the very southern end of the country and separated by the tumultuous Foveaux Strait from the country’s two larger main islands is Rakiura Stewart Island and Rakiura National Park. This island is remarkable in that almost the entire surface is covered by natural vegetation with the park providing a connection to the frozen tundra of the Sub-Antarctic Islands. Rakiura National Park was established in 2002 and is New Zealand’s newest national park, covering 1570km2, or 85% of the entire area of Stewart Island.

PARK STORIES

Muttonbirding

Since early human arrival to New Zealand people have hunted the titi. This seabird is also known as the sooty shearwater or muttonbird. Maori continue to have legal rights to harvest titi in Rakiura. Traditionally the birds were preserved in kelp bags.

Image © National Library of New Zealand

Birds

Because New Zealand split away from other landmasses, the brown coloured Kaka found on Stewart Island has retained many primeval aspects of the parrot genera. One of the best places to see Rakiura’s many native birds is Ulva Island where all invasive pests have been eradicated. As a result both birds and birdsong
is plentiful.

Images © Tomas Sobek (top left),
Christoph Strassler (bottom left), Bernard Spragg (right)

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

EXPLORE OTHER NATIONAL PARKS​

Nelson Lakes National Park was established in 1952 and as its name suggests has many lakes both big and small. The crystal clear waters of the deep lakes at this northern tip of the South Island of New Zealand reflect the immense mountain…
The 3555km2 Mount Aspiring National Park is a haven for native alpine plants and animals including the tiny threatened rock wren. The park is part of Te Wahipounamu South West New Zealand World Heritage Area…
The grandeur of Fiordland captures the imagination of New Zealanders and visitors from overseas. It is the most wild place in New Zealand, and one wildest in the world. It is a landscape formed by the forces of water with large fiords carved…